English Football Culture

England fans fight Marseille locals. ©Stewart Weir 1998

I did a story about England football fans for Esquire magazine back in June 1998. I was 5 years into my career and my first big shoot. My brief was to do a photo story about the fans as they followed England. This shot was taken the evening before the first match against Tunisia. I had literally jumped off the train from Paris about 20 minutes earlier. I heard police sirens at the train station, jumped in a taxi and asked the driver what was going on. He told me that there were lots of fans in the port area causing trouble so thats where I headed.

Leave a Reply

