Protest 1993

Protests in Shoreham, England against the transportation of live animals across the English Channel for slaughter in France 1993 ©Stewart Weir 1993

This image was my first published photograph which appeared in the The Guardian and New Statesmen in 1993. People were protesting against the transportation of live animals across the English Channel to France to be slaughtered. Thinking back to how I worked then is not a lot different to how I work now. I prefer black and white film and I prefer quirky cameras like the Contax T2 which was used for this image. In fact I have an urge to discover Pinhole imagery.. the idea of creating images with just an empty box, film and a tiny hole that takes minutes to expose is going to be therapy for my soul. Love digital but it doesn’t have a soul like film does..

 


 

One thought on “Protest 1993

Leave a Reply

